Southern Africa Regional Police Chiefs Cooperation Organisation
Welcome to SARPCCO online


The SARPCCO Coordinator and Head of the INTERPOL Regional Bureau for Southern Africa

I am delighted to welcome you all to our SARPCCO Website. This interactive platform has been designed to promote the ideals of our Regional Police Chiefs in their undying quest of creating a conducive atmosphere which enables the realization of our SADC vision, “of a Common Future, a future within a regional community that will ensure economic well-being,,improvement of the standards of living and quality of life, freedom and social justice and peace and security for the people of Southern Africa.”

Lieutenant General Joseph Shimweelao SHIKONGO

The SARPCCO Chairperson and Inspector General of the Namibian Police Force.

I am gratified to welcome you all to our website. SARPCCO is a well established regional police structure in the Southern African region formed in 1995 after the Police Chiefs agreed to put their efforts together against a myriad of cross border crimes that have been cancerously bedeviling the region’s economic progress. Being the current Chairperson of SARPCCO, charged with the responsibility of ensuring its effectiveness in providing quality service to the region, I am highly encouraged by the level of cooperation

SARPCCO Women Network

Eswatini Gender National Conference

The Kingdom of Eswatini held their Gender National Conference on 22 August 2022 in Mbabane. This presented an opportunity for the launching of their Sexual Harassment Policy as well as the Gender Network Constitution on the same day by The Deputy Prime Minister of Eswatini Honorable T.N. Masuku. A clear roadmap has been offered through the Regional SARPCCO Women Network Desk coordinated by Professor E. Ndove through the the SARPCCO Coordination Office at the INTERPOL Regional Bureau in Harare Zimbabwe. The cooperation by SARPCCO member states has been awesome and the impact of the good work being evident as more and more support is being levelled towards abolishing gender disparities in the region’s policing personnel.

Resolution 14 of the 1st SARPCCO Annual General Meeting Held in Namibia from 29 – 30 July 1996 gave birth to the SARPCCO Games. Herewith the 2022 SARPCCO Games

Decision 11 of the Chiefs of Police adopted the proposal for the establishment of the SARPCCO Centre of Excellence (CoE) during the 18th SARPCCO Annual General Meeting held on 15 May 2013 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. A Task Team comprising South Africa (Chair), Botswana, Namibia, Tanzania, Swaziland Zimbabwe and INTERPOL Regional Bureau Harare was subsequently formed to 

Relationship with INTERPOL

The RB draws the focus of its activities from the INTERPOL and SARPCCO strategic plans as well as contemporary policing challenges.  The aims of the Harare RB are to: Represent the General Secretariat and promote INTERPOL’s objectives in the region; Ensure the implementation of INTERPOL programmes in the region and resolutions of the General Assembly and the African Regional Conference; Serve as a link between the region and the rest of the INTERPOL community; Serve as a Coordination Office for the Southern Africa Regional Police Chiefs Cooperation Organization (SARPCCO)


The SADC/SARPCCO Chiefs of Police Sub-Committee of the Inter-State Defence and Security Committee (ISDSC) continues its strategic engagements with Member States as it successfully held its first ever virtual 25th Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 17th June 2020. Officially opening the meeting, on behalf the of Chairperson of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe, His Excellency Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, was the Zimbabwe Minister of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage, Honourable Kazembe Kazembe MP. He expressed his gratitude to the frontline officers for their unshaken responses to the call of duty amidst the COVID 19 pandemic. Connected to the virtual meeting were Chiefs of Police and their representatives from all the 16 SADC Member States; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe. The INTERPOL Secretary General Dr. Jurgen STOCK, the SADC Executive Secretary Dr. Stergomena Lawrence TAX, the Director of Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Affairs, and the Head of INTERPOL Regional Bureau for Southern Africa who is also the SARPCCO Coordinator, Mr. Mubita NAWA connected to the historic virtual meeting.

Close Menu